top of page


St Brigid's J.N.S. is a mixed Junior school with classes from Junior Infants to Second class.


The school was opened in 1982 and was originally located in Aylesbury. The chilldren were transported by bus to and from the temporary school each day. Tom Walshe was principal and teaching staff were Jacinta Mitchell, Treasa Ni Cheannaigh and Larry Burke.

In September 1984 the school moved into its present premises in Brookfield, Tallaght. There were 73 children on the roll, 42 boys and 31 girls. In 1985 the numbers rose to a peak of 293 boys and 283 girls.

As a result of rising numbers the school split on the 31st of August 1986 to become St. Brigid's Junior National School and St. Aidan's Senior National School. Tom Walsh retired as principal in 1991 and Patrick J.Smyth was appointed as principal in November 1991, followed by Mary Mullen in 2005 and the current principal Maeve Cloke was appointed in 2018.

The current school management team is as follows:

Principal: Maeve Cloke 
Deputy Principal: Geraldine Nolan 
Chairperson B.O.M: Sr Edel Murphy

bottom of page